To tweet or not to tweet?

All my blogs in November are part of NaBloPoMo – National Blog Posting Month, a challenge to post a blog everyday for the whole month. I’m taking part in this with my friend Amy – check out her blog here!

Recently across my world of social networking, there has been a theme of negativity towards the tweets and statuses of others.

A number of people don’t like others who moan. Some don’t like people who show off about what a lovely time they’ve had somewhere or doing something. Some don’t like people sharing what their child has learnt or can do because they consider it showing off. Some get fed up with every life problem being shared. Some don’t like seeing what people had for breakfast/lunch/dinner. Some get fed up with Instagram (or similar) pics popping up all the time.

Well, what the hell am I supposed to tweet about then?!

A week or so ago I made a real effort not to be negative. If I started to write something moany, then I tried to turn it positive. For example, I remember tweeting something like ‘time to change how this day is going, this afternoon will be better!’ because I didn’t want to annoy people with negativity. I’ve now got to the point where I know I’m not going to make all of my followers on twitter happy, and I’ll just tweet what I want, when I want, like I usually do. If they don’t like it, they can mute or unfollow. And is it likely that they’ll see my every tweet anyway? Er, no. Not if they’re like me and only pop in every so often throughout the day!

Facebook. Slightly different story for me. I have my Grandad, Uncle and cousins on there, with past colleagues, my mother in law and friends, so what I say there is different. In fact, I don’t say a lot. I used to; I tried to do a status every day as I hate ‘lurkers’ who read their timeline often, but don’t update their status and don’t ‘like’ things or comment, the people that you pretty much forget are on your friends list because you never see any activity. So I tried not to be one those, but I ran out of interesting yet not boasting or moaning or talking about weather type of things to say. I don’t want to talk about food too much because I am a fatty and I don’t want to draw attention to that!

A friend’s status last week wrote about the things he hated on Facebook, which included people who have pictures of their children as their profile picture ‘so that we all have to look at their chubby, snot covered offspring every time they write a vomit inducing status about their said child’ (this comment got 6 likes) and pictures of people having more fun than him, even though they probably aren’t. Well, my child is in my profile picture (with me), because she is a huge part of my life and I am pretty much with her all day every day.

So, to tweet or not to tweet? There’s a fine line somewhere…

10 thoughts on “To tweet or not to tweet?

  1. Love this. I have felt like that on Twitter many a time & now I so hold back a fair bit in order to ‘keep the peace’ the result of which has been that Twitter is not the close network of support etc it once was for me. You can never please anyone and the followers who stick with you are the ones worth keeping 🙂

  2. Tweet for yourself my dear, not for others. I ADORE your tweets. And everyone is entitled to a moan. If I moan, I generally would get a hug in a tweet or a someone saying tomorrow will be better. x

  3. Couldnt agree more, on every point. Ultimately, your account, your tweets. I love your tweets and have no issue with them. Not that i have an issue with anyone’s tweets as i am of the opinion that twitter is a “snapshot” of everyday life. Sometimes its good, sometimes its bad. People need to deal with that! And if they cant then id rather not have to deal with them 😉 x

    • I really like your view of twitter being a snapshot of everyday life, that’s a great way of putting it! We’re all human and we all have many emotions; they’re bound to be reflected in our tweets x

  4. I don’t understand why anyone can give out about what others tweet about, if they don’t like what ya say why are they following you? I love the freedom to moan and groan about the weather if I want to (which is quite often now that I think about it) or anything else.
    I reckon the people who stay followers are the people who like what I tweet about!

  5. You know how I feel about this crapola! Can’t stand censorship. If you feel you have to say it, say it! People can always unfollow if they are offended/don’t want to hear it. (I obviously don’t need to know your opinion if you’ve unfollowed, so don’t unfollow/block and then be all like “Oh you hate your kids so you do my head in etc etc”) And as for those on Facebook who bitch about “Oh, I don’t want to see your kids/cats/dogs/scan pics…” Well, Facebook has an easy solution for that – it’s called HIDE!
    So sick of the passive aggressive bullshit that comes from people not being able to just ignore tweets/statuses they don’t want to see! Jeez! If someone is having a conversation on a bus and you overhear it and it’s not something that interests you, there is no requirement for you to then poke your nose in. Same applies to twitter.

    Enough ranting.

    (Sorry Vix.) Good post! ❤

Leave a comment